Notes from Therapy (4)

So. The question I am about to ask will either:

A. Put you into a confused/silent/pensive place

B. Be totally fine

I fall into the A category, just FYI.

The question is “What do you want?” As open ended or closed as you want, you can interpret this however. You may instantly reply pizza (I mean I ALWAYS want pizza so this is a valid choice) or you may not have a bloody clue.

I want you to sit with that question, if meditation is part of your practice maybe use it as a prompt or focus. You can use this question to get in touch with your immediate needs (I want a glass of water, I want to nap, I really want to hoover that rug) or consider your wider, longer term goals.

What do you want? I find it hard to answer. I have to sit with it, silent & considering. I often focus so much on others, on being “good” I truly have little connection to my self. I working on paying attention to myself. What do I want? Stability, a home, to be settled & quiet.

I think it is a good want.

Leave a comment