Notes from Therapy (5)

So, I’ve not posted for a couple of weeks, therapy isn’t always interesting or for public consumption. The last session was doing some art (sketching) so not something I can share – well I could but it was BAD art & I’m fairly precious about the art I put out in the world. So. No.

I’m working with my therapist mainly to process & recognise emotions at the mo, I’ve seen this chart before (below from Google, search for emotions wheel for your very own) but never really looked at it before. And I find it fascinating.

For me I find it easy to identify those emotions in the center of the ring, but the further out I find it more difficult, both in others & myself. This lack or misidentification can be for any number of reasons, trauma, lack of emotional intelligence, denial, fear round what these emotions bring up or mean.

We all want to be happy right? But what does that ACTUALLY mean? What kind of happy do you want to be or are lacking? What parts of emotions are easy for you, which do you struggle with?

For me, exploring this “want” brought up some major revelations around what I see happy as, where I want to be, & what I feel I’ve never really experienced. It was do something helpful for you too. Or not. The colours are pretty.

Leave a comment