Notes from Therapy (6)

Control. An awesome movie & an equally fascinating topic.

In a world that is pretty unstable (2020 take an epic fucking bow) & changeable it is totally normal to try to exert some form of control on our environment or whatever we can.

You don’t need to do this in quite the extreme way I apparently do. I mean I hadn’t consciously realised this until talking to my therapist but it’s fairly obvious.

To be fair that is pretty much the whole premise of therapy.

I got my first tattoo when I was 19. It was a small butterfly on my hip (easy to hide), I would go on to occasionally state it was representative of the change & growth I was going through at the time. And it kinda was. But about 80% of the reason was it was pretty & small.

I went from that little one, to a tramp stamp (it was 2001, I Still like it), to more on my spine, ribs & wrists. Then a half sleeve, and (nearly) full sleeve, thigh pieces & more.

Why tattoos? To control my body, to make it pretty & beautiful. To adorn it with permanent art. To mark event, occasions, loves, inspirations. To make the one place in the world I have complete autonomy over even more mine.

For someone who has felt out of control of their life, & majorly fears being out of control getting stabbed by a needle millions of times feels like a decent compromise.

Leave a comment